The University Council

The university council is the supreme scientific and administrative authority. The university council holds weekly meetings. The head of the council, the President of the University, is authorized to call for exceptional meetings when necessary. The council consensus is accomplished at the presence of the majority of its members.


  • Approving applicants for graduate and post graduate studies.
  • Ratifying scientific research plans.
  • Opening scientific faculties and departments.
  • Arranging bilateral educational relations with international universities and scientific institutions in other countries.
  • Supervising the implementation of bilateral educational agreements with international universities after ratifying these agreements from the KRG Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research.
  • Employing local academic teaching staff.
  • Approving plans for rehabilitation and training of scientific personnel and administrative staff.
  • Approving the distribution of scientific and administrative staffs of the faculties.

UOZ Council Members

Asst. Prof. Dr. Lazgin Abdi Jamil

President of the University of Zakho, Chairman of the Council
Email :

Assist. Prof. Dr. Yaseen Taha Mustafa

Vice President for Scientific Affairs and Postgraduate Studies, Member
Email :

Dr. Dyar - Vice President

Assist. Prof. Dr. Diyar Abudukarim Said

Vice President for Administration and Financial Affairs, Member
Email :

Dr. Karwan - VicePresident

Dr. Karwan Fahmi Sami

Vice President for Students Affairs, Member
Email :

Prof. Dr. Maher Khalid Ali

Dean of the Faculty of Science, Member
Email :

Dr. Hoger - Dean

Prof. Dr. Hoger Taher Tawfiq

Dean of the Faculty of Humanities, Member
Email :

Assist. Prof. Dr. Sherzad Zakaria Mohamad

Dean of the Faculty of Education, Member
Email :

Assist. Prof. Dr. Range M. Nori Khalifa Majid Dawoda

Dean of the College of Administration and Economics, Member
Email :

Assist. Prof. Dr. Lokman A. Abdulkareem

Dean of the College of Engineering, Member
Email :

Dr. Othman A. Omer

Dean of the College of Basic Education, Member
Email :

Representative of the university staff, Member
Email :